Friday, November 22, 2013

WRN Program Schedule

WRN Broadcast has announced that as part of the company’s continued growth strategy it will be refocusing its seven international radio networks to concentrate on the core service regions.  As a result the French and German Networks will cease broadcasting from midnight 31 December 2013, and the web-based stations audio on-demand archive service will cease on 16 December 2013. This Newsletter will also close with the last edition published on 20 December 2013.

Prairie Home Companion
Sunday 24th November: A Prairie Home Companion
 This week on A Prairie Home Companion, it's a rebroadcast of the all-things-banjo show from back in February. With Joe Newberry on "Down the Road," Bill Evans playing "Ragtime Episode," Noam Pikelny's "Broken Drought," a three- (three!) banjo version of "Arkansas Traveler," and a bit of history on the instrument from Bill C. Malone. Plus, Suzy Bogguss sings "Yellow River Road," and in Lake Wobegon, the town prepares for the annual "Big Plunge" fundraising event.

Broadcast times

In Europe:                       Sun 1100 UTC / 1200 CET

Asia Calling
Saturday 23rd November: Asia Calling

Asia Calling is a weekly current affairs programme produced in Jakarta by Indonesia’s only independent radio network KBR68H.
Broadcast times:
In Europe:                      Sat 1500 UTC / 1600 CET

In North America:               Sat 1100 EST / 0800 PST

In Africa & the Middle East:    Sat 0700 UTC / 0900 CAT

In Asia & the Pacific:          Sat 0700 UTC / 1800 AEDT 

Radio Guangdong
Saturday 23rd, Sunday 24th November: Radio Guangdong

Radio Guangdong, established in October 1949, is a leading radio group in south China.  Radio Guangdong programmes cover political, economic, social and cultural issues; programmes about Guangdong, programmes about Guangdong people and programmes linking Guangdong with the world.

Broadcast times

In Europe:                     Sat 2030 UTC / 2130 CET      

In North America:              Sat 2130 EST / 1830 PST 
In Africa & the Middle East:   Sat 1730 UTC / 1930 CAT                                                                     
In Asia & the Pacific:         Sun 2300 UTC / Mon 1000 AEDT

Radio New Zealand International

Saturday 23rd November: Radio New Zealand International Dateline Pacific
RNZI is New Zealand's only shortwave station, broadcasting to the Island nations of the Pacific. Its broadcasts range from Papua New Guinea in the west across to French Polynesia in the east, covering all South Pacific countries in between.
Broadcast times:
In Europe:                      Sat 0400 UTC / 0500 CET

In North America:               Sat 1000 EST / 0700 PST

Ways to listen
WRN's English language services and your favourite programmes can be heard all around the world. To find out how to tune in, visit the ways to listen section on our website.

WRN via the Internet

The WRN website hosts an extensive range of on-demand programming and you can also listen to WRN’s live streams 24/7. In addition, the WRN website provides schedule and ways to listen information as well as details about our partner broadcasters including links to their websites.