Tuesday, February 13, 2007

New status of Netherlands Antilles delayed until December 2008

The new status of the islands in the Netherlands Antilles within the Kingdom of the Netherlands is now scheduled to take effect in December 2008. Earlier, it was planned that the islands would each have a new status by mid-2007. From 15 December 2008, Sint Maarten will have full nation status, while Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba will have special municipality status. No decision has yet been taken about the largest island, Curaçao. The Island Council earlier rejected an agreement over diplomatic relations with the Netherlands. The Dutch government believes that Curaçao will eventually agree to the splitting up of the Netherlands Antilles, and will, like Sint Maarten, accept full nation status within the Kingdom. The changes will cost the Netherlands almost half a billion euros.
(Source: Radio Netherlands News/R Netherlands Media Network Weblog)